Tags

, , ,

Okay. I admit it. I was a Scrooge this Halloween, even though being a Scrooge is most often associated with Christmas. This was the first year in a very long time that I didn’t hand out candy to trick-or-treaters.

Hubby and I went to a friend’s reviewal and then we skipped town. When we got back to town, we stopped at a local bar for an hour just to make sure we’d miss any stray trick-or-treaters. The curtains were pulled shut and the porch and front entry lights were left off for good measure.

I didn’t want to hand out candy, mostly because it’s a pain in the butt to get up continually to answer the door. Doggle Woggle also freaks out every time someone knocks so controlling an excitable dog while juggling a bowl of candy is not high on the enjoyable tasks list.

The avoidance of this annual ritual made me feel vaguely guilty. Shouldn’t I like handing out candy to kids?

And then a neighbor made me feel better about my avoidance. While Hubby and I were at the bar, we ran into said neighbor and mentioned we were avoiding trick-or-treaters. She said she’s managed to avoid them for close to a decade. She either leaves the house or she hides in her bedroom with the rest of the house dark so she doesn’t have to answer the door.

One of my co-workers also avoids trick-or-treaters, darkening the house as well. Another co-worker lives in a spot that is not conducive to trick-or-treating (lucky girl!), so she rarely gets the costumed treat-seekers at her door. This year, she didn’t even bother buying candy.

Show of hands. Who else here avoids trick-or-treaters? What methods do you employ to keep them from knocking on your door?