Tags

, , , , , ,

Oatmeal with flax seed, blueberries, agave and rice milk.

Oatmeal with flax seed, blueberries, agave and rice milk.

Here is my breakfast most mornings. Quick oats with a teaspoon of whole flax seeds, frozen blueberries, agave syrup, and rice milk. I like using quick oats because I can whip up the oatmeal without dirtying a pan. I merely heat water in my electric tea kettle (best gift ever!) and add a cup to 1/2 cup of quick oats right in the bowl.

The important thing about this is that I don’t have to dirty any dishes beyond a bowl and spoon. Even the cup I use to scoop out the oatmeal ends up clean once I’ve put the boiling water into it. I enjoy meals that don’t create a lot of mess in the kitchen.

Interestingly, I’ve had a couple of people tell me lately that they like to eat cereal for lunch and dinner. It’s quick, filling, and easy to prepare for only one person. Yep, I can see that. As Erik and I move toward the Empty Nest, surely there will be times we don’t feel like cooking but we’ll be hungry anyway. Cereal and other breakfast foods will be just the trick.

Good thing I like cereal, particularly my morning oatmeal. I’ve been tempted to eat it for every meal already because of its deliciousness.

I have a couple of other favorite cereals, though, in case I get tired of oatmeal: Grape Nuts and Post Raisin Bran. I can’t think of any other cereal like Grape Nuts. I love how it gives my mouth a workout while I eat it. And the Raisin Bran has to be Post because it has no corn syrup. (I’m amazed at the number of foods that contain corn syrup, a really unnecessary ingredient. That rant, however, could serve as another blog post.)

Erik just gave me a bite of scrambled eggs made with heavy whipping cream. Num! It reminds me of my other favorite breakfast that I can eat for any meal: Toast and eggs, Margie. The eggs, Margie, can be scrambled or over-easy or hard-boiled. And we always say “eggs” with “Margie” tacked on because of the movie Fargo, wherein the investigating police officer’s husband keeps saying something along the lines of, “I can make you some eggs, Margie.”

Today I plan to show Young Son how to make hard-boiled eggs. There’s a trick to keeping the yolks from turning green, a sign of over-cooking, so I want to impart that knowledge. As one of Young Son’s favorite foods, it’s important he know how to make them when he’s out on his own. He can then get started on the tradition of enjoying breakfast for every meal.

