Tags

, , ,

While I don’t typically write about my work on The Woo Woo Teacup Journal, it’s no secret that I’m a museum manager. (If you want to know what that entails, let me know and I’ll write a post about it.)

The job involves a lot of writing, much of it posted elsewhere online. In order to provide some cohesion between my online lives, I thought I’d share links to a few of the pieces I’m especially proud of.

The Legend of Hole in the Day – I loved doing the research on this, including visiting Chief Hole in the Day’s grave site, which was a dramatic story in itself due to the heat of the day. Hole in the Day was an Ojibwe chief in our area. The challenge of this piece was to examine a cherished legend from front to back to see if there was any historical accuracy to it. Laying it out in booklet form was also a blast.

The Sudden Death of a Community Institution: Home Savings of America – We don’t often cover a lot of current history at historical societies. This piece was written the same year the bank failed, which meant that I had firsthand experience with the story.

Getting to Know an Ernest Mann & Ernest Mann Revisited – I didn’t know Ernest Mann, but I’m pretty sure I would have liked him if I did. I’m drawn to characters who live outside normal in life and in fiction.

History Is Not Comfortable – This piece was one of the hardest I’ve ever had to write, but necessary because it was in defense of a friend and the LGBT community and history.