Tags

, , , ,

It’s been ages since I’ve posted on my blog. Life (read: eczema & business & work) has gotten away from me.

Because life has been so hectic, I haven’t been reading as much. Typically, I scarf down 3 to 4 books per month. Not so this year. I checked one long book out of the library in January and have been reading it since, finishing just this morning. I decided to take a long, slow read, rather than rush through a book. I’m glad I did.

The book I read was “The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore” by Benjamin Hale. It’s about a chimpanzee who learns to talk and his process of evolution from animal to “human.” What’s great about the book is the excellent description provided by the author through Bruno, who, because he’s learning language and the ways of humans, has an exacting method of describing settings and processes.

I very much enjoyed the slower pace of reading this book and would recommend other voracious readers try this. Incidentally, the book publisher is TWELVE books, which chooses to publish only one book per month in order to give each book and author the proper time and attention needed to introduce them to audiences. Quite appropriate that I chose this book for my long, slow read.

Have you ever taken your time in reading a book? If so, what book and what did you get out of the process?