Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love hand sewing. I never used to. It’s something that grew on me. So much so that now I will periodically crave it. I’ve just GOT to sew fabric together with regular small stitches. By hand.

Weird by today’s standards? Yes. I mean, if you’ve got to sew something, why not just throw it under the presser foot and needle of a sewing machine and zip some stitches through it?

Except that it doesn’t provide the same feeling of stitching by hand.

And it’s not exactly weird when looked at through the lens of the Maker Movement, which includes a resurgence of traditional arts and crafts.

And our local school is still teaching sewing in home ec (only they don’t call it home ec any more) so apparently it’s not THAT weird.

So, when Young Son’s friend brought home a school sewing project upon which he was attempting to hand sew a binding, I wanted to whip it away from him and do it myself. Such is the strength of my craving. But I resisted and instead asked him about the project.

He told me he was at a standstill because he couldn’t figure out how to tie off the thread.  I noticed he was also having trouble hiding the stitches, so I showed him how to properly sew a blind stitch and tie it off. (Oh, how hard it was not to keep sewing!) He said that he learned more in my 5-minute sewing lesson than he had learned in class. Sad day!

Hand sewing is a technique best learned through demonstration, particularly one-on-one. I learned much of what I know about hand sewing from books, although it wasn’t easy. The diagrams didn’t always make sense to me and I had to practice, practice, practice in order to create a smooth, regular stitch.

It’s the regularity of the sewing technique and the resulting stitch that make me crave hand sewing. Just like it was the regularity of seeing a well-warped loom that made me enjoy weaving.

I think I’m seeing a pattern here.😉