Tags

, , , , ,

Here’s my reading as of late ….

Three black & green books - my reading in July 2012

Three black & green books – my reading in July 2012

A little over a year ago, I noticed a definite color scheme to the books I was reading. They all had white covers.

Somehow, it’s happened again. The books I’m reading are color-coordinated, all by serendipity.

Daughter lent me “The Big Short” by Michael Lewis. I picked it up after finding I had nothing* to read after I had finished “The Historian.” While reading it, I put a number of books on hold at the library so I’d have something to read when I was done.

Being impatient, I popped into the library to see if the books I’d ordered were there, even though I hadn’t yet received an email notification. I don’t know about you, but when I’m in a library, I can’t resist looking through the stacks, no matter how little time I have to visit. I went to the new book section and found “The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities” you see in the pic above.

I didn’t put together the color scheme with “The Big Short,” on which the green is fairly subtle, until I picked up the books I ordered and saw the color scheme for “Snoop: What Your Stuff Says About You.” There’s some serious green and black going on here and, of the multitudes of green available in the world, it’s the same one used in the lettering of the “Lambshead” book.  While the green on the outer cover of “The Big Short” is a metallic green, what you can’t see in the pic is that the same lime green on “Lambshead” and “Snoop” is used on the inside of the jacket.

Curious, no? Especially because all of these books deal with stuff in some form, a topic I’ve become very interested in as of late. (In case it’s not obvious from the title, “The Big Short” deals with the stuff we call houses and the sub-prime mortgage crisis.)

Incidentally, each book has a different publisher and different designers, so the color scheme must be trendy. It’s just odd that I ended up with all three at the same time.

I wonder what the author of “Snoop” might have to say about my color-coordinated reading.

(*Do readers ever really have “nothing” to read?)