Tags

, , , , ,

The story behind my Evil Eye bracelet continues.

I wore my bracelet a number of days in a row and noticed that several of the eyes were cracked. According to Turkish tradition, when your Evil Eye cracks, it has protected you from another person’s envy and  you need to have it replaced.

Here’s the thing. I don’t know if the eyes on my bracelet were cracked when I bought it. I seem to remember examining it pretty closely before I purchased it, but I may not have thought to look for cracks until after I read about Turkish Evil Eyes online. If they cracked after I bought it, well … who it their right mind would be envious of me? I love my life, but it’s pretty ordinary. Certainly not a life that ought to cause envy in others.

In thinking about the cracks, I got to wondering if perhaps the Turkish are masters of marketing. Maybe these glass eyes are manufactured to crack easily so that their owners feel protected, but also have a reason to replace them often. It’s a great capitalistic gig, if you can get it.🙂

In other Evil Eye news, I was surprised to find mention of an Evil Eye talisman in the novel I’m currently reading, “The Historian” by Elizabeth Kostova. At one point, a character in the novel presents “a flat blue stone, about an inch long, set with white and paler blue, like a crude eye” (pg. 192) to another character. I knew immediately that it was a Turkish Evil Eye talisman.

Given the fact that I’d never heard of the Turkish Evil Eye until I purchased my bracelet, I found this to be quite a coincidence. Apparently, I’m now primed to notice Evil Eyes.