Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m not sure if I’m in Geek Heaven or Old People Heaven. I’m listening to Duran Duran’s first album, called, fittingly, Duran Duran. Notice I said “album,” as in record, vinyl, spinning disk. I haven’t heard the record in years (decades?) because we haven’t had a record player to play it on. Until now.

In his many picking travels as part of our Mid-Century Vibe business, Erik found a Zenith console stereo. It’s the one that’s pictured here, although that one is not ours. (I haven’t configured the camera to the new laptop yet, so no pics of our own ’til I get that done.) Erik bought this louvered beauty (the louvers on the sides open to let the sound out of the speakers) for $10. He found another console stereo, also a Zenith, for $2. Seems no one wants them anymore. Except old stereo geeks and old people (old = 40-ish) who remember growing up with these things and want to play the records we still own and couldn’t get rid of.

(I just had to flip the record over. Totally forgot about that feature of records. We had to explain to our daughter how multiple records can be stacked to drop. Oh, the changes in technology!)

The stereo has a deep click in the record player, which is only noticeable between songs, so we’ll have to talk to our audiophile friends (a couple of whom own Vintage Music Company in Minneapolis) to see how we can fix this.

I am soooooo enjoying this album! There are songs on it that I barely remember, the ones that didn’t get lots and lots of airplay when the album came out, and I’m almost liking those better than the well-known songs. (Ever heard of “Is There Anyone Out There,” “Sound of Thunder” or “Friends of Mine?”)  It strikes me that for a bunch of young guys, Duran Duran made more complicated music than they were given credit for.

This stereo is going to see some serious Duran Duran disk spinning. (And Ultravox, and INXS and The Cult and other ’80s-’90s classics.)