Tags

, ,

Doggle Woggle will be two in about a month, yet dog training continues. (Does it ever really end?) While he is still full of energy and pulls on the leash (and dashes out of the house unexpectedly every once in a while, ahem – this evening), he seems to catch onto new commands faster than he used to. Or maybe I’m getting better at thinking up commands that he can figure out.

The energetic and distractible Doggle Woggle. "What's that shiny object?" March 2012.

The energetic and distractible Doggle Woggle. "What's that shiny object?" March 2012.

The newest command he has learned is “my speed.” With the energy of Doggle Woggle, I wanted to be able to run with him periodically, but he tends to drag me as soon as I speed up to a run. I finally got the idea to do a slow run and tell him, “My speed” as I did so in order to let him know he should follow my pace. It took just a few tries and he understood. Yay! I try to practice with him at least once a day. He still gets over-excited and wants to really run, but I pull the leash up short and stop him and make him sit when he does this.

I am by no means a great dog trainer (I’m too lenient), but it’s pleasing when Doggle Woggle understands.

Tonight, after he dashed out of the house, I realized we hadn’t taught him to sit and stay (we use the term “waiting” for stay) while going in and out, mostly because dashing is a new thing for him. (He’s such a teenager, working on that whole independence thing.) As long as I gave him firm sit and waiting commands, he didn’t try the dash. Of course, the treats helped.

Hopefully, he’ll calm down as he gets older and all of this won’t be so much work.

