Tags

, ,

Until a couple of weeks ago, Hubby and I had only two houseplants in the house, plus a couple of donkey tail cuttings, but they’re not in dirt, so I’m not counting them yet. I decided I wanted to get an aloe vera plant, which made me think of my childhood. My mom kept boatloads of houseplants, including a number of aloe vera. Whenever we wanted to have a new plant, we just took a cutting, stuck it in water until the roots grew, then planted it in a new pot.

Maybe it was my child-like interpretation of the world at the time, but I feel like everyone had houseplants, lots and lots of them, and they were all trading cuttings. This would have been in the 1970s. Were houseplants a trend at the time, or was I extrapolating from the experience in my home and assuming that everyone had houseplants? If you were alive in the ’70s, what were your experiences with houseplants?

Hubby and I managed to find an aloe vera plant at Wal-Mart of all places. Here’s our bouncing baby succulent:

The Warner household's newest houseplant - aloe vera. December 2011.

The Warner household's newest houseplant - aloe vera. December 2011.