Tags

, ,

I had a little time over the past week to finish an Amigurumi project I started ages ago and whip up a new Amigurumi project within an hour or so after that. (Why do some easy projects take months to start and get back to and others are done in no time flat?)

The first Amigurumi item I finished was a parrot.

Amigurumi parrot made by Mary Warner, October 2011.

Amigurumi parrot made by Mary Warner, October 2011.

The second I made was this frog:

Amigurumi frog by Mary Warner, October 2011.

Amigurumi frog by Mary Warner, October 2011.

I found both patterns on the website for Lion Brand Yarns. (Here’s the parrot; here’s the frog (there’s more than one frog, so scroll the page to find this one). If you want the full patterns, you’ll need to create a free account. The links I’ve provided are to search result pages, so they may not display properly. If not, go to Lion Brand Yarns and search for “amigurumi parrot” and “amigurumi frog”.)

I prefer the way the frog turned out, particularly the body, which is worked up pretty much the same way the parrot’s body is. I made one small difference in crocheting the frog’s body to create the non-striped effect. When inserting my hook into the top of a stitch to crochet a new stitch, I inserted it through both loops, not just the back or just the front loop. By inserting into only one part of the stitch, you end up with the striping effect seen on the parrot. By inserting through both, you end up with a nice, all-over stitch like the frog. Such a little thing, but it makes a big difference.

