Tags

, , , , ,

Over the past month, a new regular entry has crept onto my “To Do” list, along with “Blog/write.” It is “Make something.”

Some of my computer time of late has been diverted in order to give me time to “make something,” which has consisted of a variety of activities. I have made three books, done some origami, continued work on an amigarumi parrot, made a coat for my mouse, hard-boiled some eggs and baked a banana cake.

I have pictures of a couple of my “make something” activities.

Two handmade books by Mary Warner, August 2011.

Two handmade books by Mary Warner, August 2011.

The book on the right has a cover made from coasters advertising beer made by Brainerd Lakes Beer. You can see by the scale shown on the cutting pad that these books are four-inches and less.

Handmade "Love" book by Mary Warner, August 2011.

Handmade "Love" book by Mary Warner, August 2011.

Along with the books, I have photographed the coat I made for my IKEA mouse, the one I mentioned in an earlier post.

Crocheted coat by Mary Warner for IKEA mouse, August 15, 2011.

Crocheted coat by Mary Warner for IKEA mouse, August 15, 2011.

Side view of crocheted coat by Mary Warner for IKEA mouse, August 15, 2011.

Side view of crocheted coat by Mary Warner for IKEA mouse, August 15, 2011.

Back view of crocheted coat by Mary Warner for IKEA mouse, August 15, 2011.

Back view of crocheted coat by Mary Warner for IKEA mouse, August 15, 2011.

The mouse coat is not as elegant as I would have liked. Although, in my defense, this was my first go and I was crocheting while under the effects of a headache. (What was I thinking? Wait. I wasn’t thinking. I had a headache.) I may have to try again.

Sorry, no pictures of the origami (nothing to write home about, trust me), the parrot (not finished yet), the hard-boiled eggs or cake (perhaps you can conjure those in your mind – the cake smells yummy!).

Like finishing a blog post, making something gives me a solid feeling of accomplishment, unlike hanging out on Facebook or Twitter or surfing the web.