Tags

, , , , ,

I was randomly surfing Twitter last night. Michele Norris of National Public Radio was arguing the importance of handwriting, with much help from her followers. (I became a follower after reading someone’s retweet about the issue.) As I was following her tweets in my timeline, Twitterer Greg Palmer posted this tweet:

@gregpalmer Greg Palmer

 “Out Of Control Spending?” Hardly http://j.mp/nuWolZ
Sure, I wanted to know about out of control spending, so I clicked the link and came to this post on The Big Picture. It shows an infographic comparing federal income to federal spending. What really struck me about the post was the prelude to the comments section, which reads:

Please use the comments to demonstrate your own ignorance, unfamiliarity with empirical data, ability to repeat discredited memes, and lack of respect for scientific knowledge. Also, be sure to create straw men and argue against things I have neither said nor even implied. Any irrelevancies you can mention will also be appreciated. Lastly, kindly forgo all civility in your discourse . . . you are, after all, anonymous.

In my humble opinion, that is the BEST prelude to a comments section ever. A tip of my hat to The Big Picture and Barry Ritholtz, the post’s author, for giving me a good laugh.🙂