Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been so busy the last couple of weeks that I’m not sure if I’m going backwards or forwards.

Work has been a madhouse since the opening of our apron exhibit. This is an exhibit that has really struck a nostalgic nerve with people and, after having it featured in an area newspaper, we’ve had a constant stream of visitors to view it. That’s a great thing, however we’re down a staff member due to vacation. Meanwhile, we’re prepping a room to have the floor refinished and I’m insanely trying to get an overdue newsletter out – a newsletter for which I’m also conducting research for an article on a local business. Plus, we have several more events coming up throughout the summer that need preparation.

With all this going on at work, you’d think I’d come home and be a puddle every evening, but no. I’m in the process of transferring my books to Amazon; I have sewing to do; I need to revamp my website; arrangements need to be made for Young Son’s football activities; I’m trying to network for Springboard’s Artist Career Counselor position and build a list of arts resources in Region 5; plus I’ve got reading to keep up with.

But, wait! There’s more!

Mowing, house maintenance, bill paying, blogging, writing, laundry, dish washing, dog walking, and the constant sweeping of dog hair throughout the house are on the regular list of things to do.

Additionally, this week Hubby and I helped hang an art show (City Limits at the Great River Arts Association – we each have a piece in it), and assisted a friend with setting up a bookkeeping system (not as hairy as it sounds). Plus, Hubby and I have the community garden to run (this is mostly Hubby’s thing, but I pitch in periodically).

Even with all that, Hubby, Eldest Son and I had time (okay, we took the time) to watch a movie this past Saturday. We watched True Grit by the Coen Brothers. It was as fabulous as the rest of their movies.

After the movie, we got a call from Daughter, who’s away working for the summer. She asked us to bake a cake for her boyfriend so she could share a Skype birthday with him. And, oh, by the way, could we have it done by 7:30 p.m. the next day? She had arranged with a friend to do this before she left, but the friend’s cake didn’t turn out, so it was up to us to bake an emergency cake – one with The Beatles’ Abbey Road graphic on it. Daughter had baked a similar cake so both of them could eat cake in their respective locations while communicating via Skype. (Isn’t that a cute idea?)

It was a bit of a scramble to bake the cake, although more of a mental scramble than a physical one. I got it done in 2 1/2 hours. Here’s the portion with the Abbey Road graphic:

Abbey Road graphic on birthday cake, June 2011

Abbey Road graphic on birthday cake, June 2011

(I sure hope posting this doesn’t cause some sort of copyright fit. The cake was for personal use and the graphic has been substantially altered from the original. I don’t believe George, Paul, Ringo, or John walked across Abbey Road wearing blue frosting.😉 )

Here’s hoping things settle down a skosh soon, although summers in Minnesota always seem to have a pell-mell feeling.