Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The stack of reading material beside my bed as of late ….

My reading material, May 2011

My reading material, May 2011

What’s curious about this selection is that all of the covers are white (or pretty close to it). And three of them have red lettering and details. The other two have black lettering. I have never had such a coordinated stack of books beside my bed.

As you can see from the titles, The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey, Everything’s Eventual, Journal of a UFO Investigator, Botany for the Artist, and Encyclopedia of the Exquisite, they’re not all matchy-matchy by subject, although all of them attracted me because of their content.

While I can’t explain the star alignment that brought me five white-covered books at once, I can tell you that I finished Everything’s Eventual this morning and I enjoyed it very much. The Encyclopedia of the Exquisite is filled with entries that could be read at random, but I’m reading from beginning to end because I don’t want to miss any of them. I’m a the beginning of The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey, which has a poetic title, and have been sucked right into the story. I haven’t started Journal of a UFO Investigator yet. And Botany for the Artist is so exquisite (it’s a Dorling Kindersley book) and the botanical drawings so meticulous and inspiring, that I’ve put it on my mental wishlist of books I must own. (There aren’t many books that make that list.)

Have you ever had a stack of reading material with color-coordinated covers?