Tags

, , , ,

Hey, all, I’m going to be teaching an adult writing class this summer. It’s called Working Out the Wonk: Tools for Improving Your Writing. (I wanted a memorable name, not something generic, like How to Improve Your Writing. Hubby says Working Out the Wonk sounds like something I’d come up with.)

I’m teaching the class through the Great River Arts Association, which is running it through Community Services. Seems a little confusing and neither website has the class listed yet, but I think you can sign up through either organization.

Working Out the Wonk will be taught in five Saturday sessions, starting July 9, 2011, and running through August 6, 2011. Classes will be held at the Great River Arts Association building in Little Falls, MN. They will begin at 10:30 a.m. and go until 12:30 p.m. (Y’all will be hungry, I reckon. I know I will. Better eat a late breakfast or bring a snack to keep your blood sugar up.) Cost of all five classes is $50. I recommend taking all five, but if you want to only attend certain sessions, the cost is $15 per class.

I’ll be teaching two lessons per class, as follows:

Saturday, July 9: Handling Critique & Words

Saturday, July 16: Sentences & Sentences Continued

Saturday, July 23: Punctuation & Reading About Writing

Saturday, July 30: Inspiration & Getting to the Page

Saturday, August 6: Paragraphs & Students’ Specific Issues

Students need to bring paper and a writing implement. Yes! We’ll be writing! (I’ve been planning the writing exercises I want to present and recently came up with one related to museums. Can’t wait to see what students come up with for it.)

Okay, have I covered everything? If not, let me know in the comments. I hope you can join me.