Tags

, , ,

I got new glasses this past week. Last Tuesday I had my eye appointment at Wal-Mart Vision Center. (They are the only ones in town who will accept our insurance.) The eye doctor was shocked to find that my vision had improved slightly. So was I. He didn’t let me get too carried away, though. He showed me how bad my vision would get eventually, which is terrible. (Both the future vision and the showing me.)

I ordered new glasses that day and they were ready by Friday. Yes, of the same week. Amazing.

The glasses weren’t fitted properly when I picked them up. As if it isn’t bad enough to get used to new lenses and a new way of looking at the world, the pinching behind my right ear made me ill-tempered. I went back later in the day and had them adjusted again. They were better, but still not quite right. One more trip back the following day and they were finally resting comfortably behind my ears.

A different Vision Center employee helped me the third time, one that I thought might enjoy the detail required to properly adjust glasses. As it was early in the day and quiet at the Vision Center, I decided to ask this employee what he liked about his job. He’s been with Wal-Mart for 20 years, mostly within the Vision Center. He told me his favorite part of the job was meeting people. This was a surprise to me because he seems to be a quiet guy. Then he told me that he enjoys making little adjustments that make a big difference in how glasses work for people. He certainly did this for me. I love finding out how people relate to their jobs.

Anyway, I suppose pictures are in order. Here I am with my old glasses …

 

Old glasses, April 2, 2011.

Old glasses, April 2, 2011.

What you can’t see from this picture is the wear on the bows behind my ears. The green stuff is peeling off. Nor can you see the crackling in the anti-glare finish on my left (my left) lens.

Here I am with my new glasses …

 

My new glasses, April 10, 2011.
My new glasses, April 10, 2011.
Check out the bow detail on my new glasses. I love this! Hubby says this is so me.April 10, 2011.
Check out the bow detail on my new glasses. I love this! Hubby says this is so me. April 10, 2011.

Getting new glasses makes me feel like I have a slightly different personality. If you wear glasses, how does getting new ones make you feel?