Tags

, , ,

Friday night I went grocery shopping. Prior to leaving, I asked Young Son if there was anything he would like. He requested dill pickle-flavored chips, saying that Old Dutch brand was pretty good.

I purchased said chips and brought them, along with all the other groceries, home. Young Son tore into them immediately. After eating a couple of chips he asked Hubby and I to try them. He said the chips were soggy. I declined because I’m not a fan of dill pickle chips, but Hubby had a few and confirmed that, yes, they were soggy.

We figured there was a uniform sogginess to the whole bag and, while they weren’t particularly appetizing, they weren’t going to kill us so we’d try to finish the bag.

The next morning, when Hubby went to eat a few chips, here’s what he found:

The soggy, disgusting mass in our dill pickle chips, March 2011.
The soggy, disgusting mass in our dill pickle chips, March 2011.

Isn’t that just nummy? Once Hubby found this, we decided to return the chips. Who knew if it was one random bag or an entire batch?

Prior to the return, Hubby took pics of the mass (that’s his pic above) and of the expiration date on the bag.

Expiration date on Old Dutch dill pickle chips - April 27, 2011. Pic taken March 5, 2011.

Expiration date on Old Dutch dill pickle chips - April 27, 2011. Pic taken March 5, 2011

What makes this a red-letter event is that he took the pics and said, “Now you can blog about it.” Does Hubby know me, or what? I’m always looking for blog material and one of my favorite subjects is the stuff we buy.

I’m happy to report that after we returned the chips, we picked up a new bag of Old Dutch dill pickle chips and found they were up to their typical high quality crunchiness and dill pickle-iness.

I called this post The Rare Return because we almost never return products the store. We only return items if they don’t work at the outset or, in the case of the chips, we’re afraid that a defect might affect other customers. How about you? Are you a regular returner of merchandise or do you only rarely return things? If you return things regularly, what circumstances make you return them?