Tags

, ,

Amigurumi fortune cookie made by Mary Warner, January 2011.

Amigurumi fortune cookie made by Mary Warner, January 2011.

You know … Amigurumi.

Okay, maybe you don’t know. I hadn’t heard of Amigurumi until a few months ago. Someone in the local Knit-n-Stitch group brought it up and then I found a bunch of patterns for Halloween Amigurumi on Lion Brand Yarn’s website.

Amigurumi is primarily a crocheting technique from Japan wherein cute, stuffed little figures are made using fairly simple crochet techniques. There isn’t really any purpose to amigurumi figures except to look adorable and give the creator a sense of accomplishment because they can be made fairly quickly. According to Wikipedia, Amigurumi can also be knitted, but I haven’t found any patterns that require knitting yet.

My first attempt at Amigurumi can be seen in the pictures with this post. It’s an Amigurumi fortune cookie and it took a little less than an hour to make, which includes the time it took for me to find batting in the closet to stuff it with. I found the pattern at Lion Brand Yarn’s website and it’s supposed to be a cat toy, but I’m keeping this all to myself.

Here’s another pic, this one showing the Asian-themed vignette I threw together to highlight the piece.

Amigurumi fortune cookie with chopsticks and Asian food container (that really holds office clips). January 2011.

Amigurumi fortune cookie with chopsticks and Asian food container (that really holds office clips). January 2011.

My next Amigurumi project will be more complicated. I’m working on a parrot.

Have you made any Amigurumi? What do you think of this art form?

