Tags

, , , ,

I posted my creative goals for 2011 a few days ago and I’m happy to announce that I’ve completed two of them. With the assistance of my family, I have rearranged my office and moved my loom.

As with any furniture rearranging, I couldn’t simply move the two things I wanted to move (my desk and loom) without shifting around several other items. Because the loom was being moved to where my desk was, obviously I had to move the desk first. Before I could move my desk, I had to move a dresser and the desk needed to be chopped down to fit the new space. In the process, two bookshelves and a glass cabinet were also moved.

Let me show you …

 

BEFORE: Here's my desk in its old location. It's an old door with table legs added. It's full door length. Because of this, there was only one place I could put it in this particular room. January 2, 2011.

BEFORE: Here's my desk in its old location. It's an old, full-length door with table legs added. Because of its size, there was only one place I could put it in this particular room. January 2, 2011.

IN BETWEEN: Here is the new location for the desk, without the desk having been moved yet. In between these filing cabinets sat a small dresser upon which there was a television. We gave the TV to my sister over Christmas and moved the dresser to Eldest Son's room. January 2, 2011.

IN BETWEEN: Here is the new location for the desk, without the desk having been moved yet. In between these filing cabinets sat a small dresser upon which there was a television. We gave the TV to my sister over Christmas and moved the dresser to Eldest Son's room. January 2, 2011.

AFTER: Here's the desk, now much shorter thanks to Hubby's saw, in its new location. It's where I'm sitting now as I write this. January 2, 2011.

AFTER: Here's the desk, now much shorter thanks to Hubby's saw, in its new location. It's where I'm sitting now as I write this. January 2, 2011.

BEFORE, PART II: Here's the loom in its old location - the corner of our dining room. This is actually an old, old picture. Within the past year, I had turned the loom sideways and moved the table covered in red fabric. We also got a different dining room table, so this is quite a bit different from what's going on in the dining room now. October 2009.

BEFORE, PART II: Here's the loom in its old location - the corner of our dining room. This is actually an old, old picture. Within the past year, I had turned the loom sideways and moved the table covered in red fabric. We also got a different dining room table, so this is quite a bit different from what's going on in the dining room now. October 2009.

AFTER, PART II: The loom in its new location, where the desk used to be. Daughter is sitting behind the loom, brushing her teeth. She happened to move into the shot as I was documenting it for the blog. January 2, 2011.

AFTER, PART II: The loom in its new location, where the desk used to be. Daughter is sitting behind the loom, brushing her teeth. She happened to move into the shot as I was documenting it for the blog. She probably won't like the expression on her face. 😉 Daughter helped me move the bookcase you see behind her. Eldest Son and Young Son helped me move the loom. January 2, 2011.

AFTER, PART III: Here's the glass cabinet Eldest Son & I moved into the loom's old location in the dining room. January 3, 2011.

AFTER, PART III: Here's the glass cabinet Eldest Son & I moved into the loom's old location in the dining room. January 3, 2011.

Whew! All this furniture moving has me exhausted. I think I’ll take a few days to relax before working on my other goals.

