Tags

, , , , , ,

I have been inspired to create a new meme after reading a blog post by Neil Gaiman called The anatomy of snowbirds. In the post, which I do recommend you visit so you can read it and see the pics, Neil discusses how he has to dress for winters in the Midwest in order to walk his dogs.

Having become a recent dog owner who has to take her pup for a walk in the cold, snowy Minnesota weather, I can relate. All too well. The secret is layers … and layers … and layers, until I look like the Michelin Man.

It takes time to put on all those layers. Pup has had to learn patience in waiting for me to get ready. (I get very irritated when he decides to try stealing my boots as I put them on. Umm, yeah, if that happens, the walk doesn’t. Sorry, pup.)

So, I got to thinking, if Neil Gaiman and I both are dressing like Michelin Men (or “incompetent Jewish ninjas,” as Neil refers to himself) in order to walk the dog in crappy weather, surely this is a universal activity and a whole lot of us are doing it. Thus, the inspiration for a meme.

The meme is simple. If you own a dog (or the dog owns you) and you have to dress specifically for inclement weather in order to walk said dog, share a picture of you in your Dog Walking Outfit for Inclement Weather and another of your dog on your blog and/or Facebook. If you can manage to get both you and your dog in the same picture, even better. I’m not picky about the inclement weather, either. Rain, sleet, snow, whatever … as long as you have to dress up to walk the dog. Feel free to tag your meme pics with “Dog Walking Outfit for Inclement Weather.”

GO!

 

My Dog Walking Outfit for Inclement Weather, December 9, 2010.

My Dog Walking Outfit for Inclement Weather, December 9, 2010.

Aleksandr waiting for a walk. - Because I need another excuse to post a pic of the pup. December 9, 2010.

Aleksandr waiting for a walk. - Because I need another excuse to post a pic of the pup. December 9, 2010.

