Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve returned to drawing lately. It was something I did aplenty while I was in high school and college, but I’ve since “discovered” Sharpie markers for drawing and wanted to see what I could do with permanent marker instead of a pencil. (I’ve always liked Sharpies and have used them in the past for drawing sewing patterns onto wax paper. For this, they are the bomb.)

It takes commitment, a steady hand, and a willingness to live with or adjust for mistakes when you use Sharpies. I tried the fine line Sharpies and the fat wedge-y line Sharpies, but my favorites are the regular Sharpies. They actually call them “fine point” so the ones I’ve called “fine” are probably super fine or ultra fine or extra fine or what have you. The line the regular ones make is just right, like Baby Bear’s porridge.

I’ve approached my latest drawings with an attitude of play. I want to see what kinds of faces I can draw with a minimal amount of lines. Each part of the face is an exercise in expression. If I get the eyes the way I want them, there’s no guarantee that the mouth will be a success.

Here are some of my experimental pages:

Face drawings by Mary Warner, December 2010. There are several near the top I especially like and one drawing (on the right above the blue shapes) that reminds me of my grandma (which makes me like this one, too).
Face drawings by Mary Warner, December 2010. There are several near the top I especially like and one drawing (on the right above the blue shapes) that reminds me of my grandma (which makes me like this one, too).
Face drawings by Mary Warner, December 2010. The big face near the bottom reminds me of comedian Demetri Martin.
Face drawings by Mary Warner, December 2010. The big face near the bottom reminds me of comedian Demetri Martin.
Face drawings by Mary Warner, December 2010. The blue and green drawings are not done with Sharpies, but with Rose Art Color Sharp Metallic markers, which have the same kind of tip as regular Sharpies.
Face drawings by Mary Warner, December 2010. The blue and green drawings are not done with Sharpies, but with Rose Art Color Sharp Metallic markers, which have the same kind of tip as regular Sharpies.
Face drawings by Mary Warner, November 2010. These faces are earlier attempts than the ones above. The bottom left face was drawn with an ultra fine Sharpie. I don't like how it turned out. There are others I don't like within these pages, but with this one, it's specifically the fine line that I don't care for.
Face drawings by Mary Warner, November 2010. These faces are earlier attempts than the ones above. The bottom left face was drawn with an ultra fine Sharpie. I don’t like how it turned out. There are others I don’t like within these pages, but with this one, it’s specifically the fine line that I don’t care for.
A drawing to woggle the eyes - Spirals and Small Irregular Circles by Mary Warner, December 2010. I drew this after reading Lynda Barry's book "Picture This," in which one of the drawing assignments is to draw spirals and another is to draw small, regular shapes or lines.
A drawing to woggle the eyes – Spirals and Small Irregular Circles by Mary Warner, December 2010. I drew this after reading Lynda Barry’s book “Picture This,” in which one of the drawing assignments is to draw spirals and another is to draw small, regular shapes or lines.

If you like to draw, what is your favorite subject matter?

