Tags

, , , ,

In an effort to keep Aleksandr from getting bored, I’m always on the lookout for new toys, things that are safe for him to chew. I bought him a chickie, a tube-shape with a chick’s beak and comb that’s made of a durable cotton. After seeing how he concentrated his chewing on the comb and noted the basic construction, I decided to try making a toy for him myself.

I picked a scrap of upholstery fabric and three strips of Polar Fleece and whipped this up in about 15 minutes:

 

Toy I made for Aleksandr, November 22, 2010.
Toy I made for Aleksandr, November 22, 2010.

As I suspected, he went right for the three Polar Fleece strips. Here he is, enjoying his new toy:

 

Aleksandr chewing his new toy, November 22, 2010.
Aleksandr chewing his new toy, November 22, 2010.

This evening, I was munching a couple of Little Debbie Nutty Bars and pup was acting pretty squirrelly while I did so. Well, duh! Nutty Bars have peanut butter in them and he looooooves his peanut butter. We had an almost empty peanut butter container, so we gave it to him to lick out.

Aleksandr licking out a peanut butter container, November 23, 2010.
Aleksandr licking out a peanut butter container, November 23, 2010. Isn’t it cute how he holds it with his paws?

Obviously, we supervised him while he had this. (Which is made apparent by the fact that we have pictures. 🙂 )

Grandpa Art, Erik’s dad, stopped by this evening and became one of Aleksandr’s toys, as well. Normally he’s skittish around strangers, but pup has met Art before, so he took more of a playful stance with him tonight, hopping around and coming up to sniff him. He even let Grandpa Art give him a couple of treats. Art will be on his way to spoiling Aleksandr in no time.

