Tags

, , , , , ,

Knit-n-Stitch tag on knitting bomb, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010.

Knit-n-Stitch tag on knitting bomb, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010.

There’s a Knit-n-Stitch group that meets regularly in my town. I get the group’s meeting notices via Facebook. Got them all summer, in fact, and intended to go, but had too much to do. Toward the end of the summer, the group nabbed me with an announcement that it was going to do a knitting bomb. I had a vague notion of what a knitting bomb was and in order to soothe my curiosity, I went to the next meeting, where I got the details.

A knitting bomb is random knit pieces wrapped around things in public spaces, things like lamp posts, door knobs, sign posts, and trees. Knitting bombs are meant to be ephemeral art, up for a little while, cause no damage, and removed.  Sign me up!

Group members were told to provide a piece of knitting or crocheting that was a minimum of twelve-by-twelve inches square if they wanted to participate. I found a twelve-by-twelve crocheted Granny Square in my yarn bin, a piece I don’t remember making. I also whipped up a larger knit piece of green and pink specifically for the bomb.

My pieces were worked in with the pieces of other members and the Knit-n-Stitch group ended up with four knitting bombs:

 

Knitting Bomb 1, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010. My purple Granny Square is at the bottom.
Knitting Bomb 1, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010. My purple Granny Square is at the bottom.
Knitting Bomb 2, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010.
Knitting Bomb 2, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010.
Knitting Bomb 3, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010. My green & pink piece of knitting is at the top.
Knitting Bomb 3, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010. My green & pink piece of knitting is at the top.
Knitting Bomb 4, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010.
Knitting Bomb 4, Little Falls, MN, November 15, 2010.

Someone told me these looked like scarves wrapped around trees. That’s a good description. Not sure how much trees actually need scarves, but this was a fun project to contribute to.

