Tags

, , , ,

Today, yes, today, is the third anniversary of The Woo Woo Teacup Journal. I’ve been blogging for four years now, the first year being spent on my Filter & Splice Blogger blog. (It still exists and periodically I find myself returning to it to look something up.)

It doesn’t feel like I’ve been blogging for four years, most of them with TWWTJ, and then again, it does. I can’t tell you how many words I’ve poured into the computer for my blog, although I can tell you that I’ve written 802 posts (this one included), which amounts to about 267 posts per year. In addition, I have 24 pages. I’ve received 2,665 legitimate comments (i.e. not spam!).

I have 142 categories and 4,492 tags for my posts. I differentiate between my categories and tags in the following way: Categories are reserved for overall topics that I turn to again and again. Anything I talk about constantly – family, husband, children, music, life, Minnesota, etc. – gets a category. I rarely add new categories nowadays, but there is a notable exception. I recently added “dog” to the list because of our new puppy. In contrast, I use tags to bring attention to specific topics and proper names that I don’t often discuss, which is why there are so many of them.

With both categories and tags, I type them out in all small letters, rather than capitalizing, because I like the consistency of doing it that way.

Happy Blog Anniversary to me! Now where’s the cake? (I may have to settle for chocolate chip cookies.)

