Tags

, ,

I was quite puzzled the other day. I started a crochet project and discovered that the hook the pattern called for was too small for the gauge. The hook was size ‘K.’ The pattern suggested moving to the next size up.

In looking through my collection of crochet hooks, I found that I didn’t own an ‘L’ or ‘M’ hook, but I did have an ‘N.’ I thought that would be too big a jump, so while Hubby, Young Son and I were visiting the local Wal-Mart, I looked for the missing sizes. Wal-Mart didn’t have ‘L’s’ or ‘M’s’ in single hooks, but, get this, neither did they have these sizes within their sets of hooks. I found a set of three hooks that had ‘J,’ ‘K,’ and ‘N.’ What’s up with that?

I was beginning to think this was some anomaly of crocheting that I’ve missed all these years – ‘L’ and ‘M’ hooks weren’t manufactured because not enough people used them, or some such. I did a search online and, to my relief, there are ‘L’ and ‘M’ hooks available. Bates has a set that includes ‘L,’ ‘M,’ ‘N,’ and ‘P.’ Hey, where’s the ‘O’?

As it turns out, the ‘N’ hook wasn’t too large. It gave me the perfect gauge for my project.

