Tags

, ,

e Squared: A Novele Squared: A Novel by Matt Beaumont

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Interesting format for a novel – all emails, IMs, blog posts. I’ve been casting about, trying to find novels that tell stories in novel ways. With the online format, that’s what this novel does. The story is immediate and makes it feel as though you are reading personal correspondence. It took me a while to keep track of all the characters – some were definitely easier to follow than others – but the book reads fairly fast. There’s a lot of white space due to the formatting, so the 400+ pages fly by. (Took me maybe 3 days.) The action keeps the story moving, as does the humor. Very good.

View all my reviews >>

P.S. In case you want to know, the story takes place in a highly dysfunctional ad agency, where the Creative Department is attempting to sell world leader scents (Margaret Thatcher perfume, anyone?) and tiny cigarettes to minors. Obviously, this is not to be taken seriously. One of the funniest bits is when the character Harvey Harvey (I’m not making that name up) replies to spam emails.

