Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love the word ‘ennui.’ Such a pretty word for boredom.

I’m afraid I’ve sunk into a gully of Internet Ennui. Tracing the same online steps – email, email, email, email, email, Twitter, Facebook, a spot of LinkedIn, the occasional GoodReads, my blog, Google Reader … sigh. It’s all starting to look the same to me, an overwhelming barrage of information to sort through and keep up with.

Summer weather and books are calling. Oh, are the books calling! I’ve finished four books in the past two weeks: “Writing With Intent” by Margaret Atwood, “Animal Farm” by George Orwell, “Oryx and Crake” by Margaret Atwood, and “Long Quiet Highway” by Natalie Goldberg. I’m well into my fifth, “eSquared: A Novel” by Matt Beaumont. I had quite forgotten how fun it is to fall into a book without loads of external distractions.

(Just remembered. I read “To Kill a Mockingbird” before “Writing With Intent.” Make that five books finished in the past three weeks.)

All this reading reminds me of being a kid, when I’d check out a stack of books from the library and read and read and read and never get sick of it.

Do you ever suffer from Internet Ennui? If so, what pulls you out of it? What might you be missing in life that makes you want to turn your back on the internet, for a little while, at least?

