Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Thanks to LK Winter for this fun little tool. His writing came out like Margaret Atwood’s. Mine came out like ….

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I’ve never read any David Foster Wallace, so perhaps I need to add him to my reading list. Got any recommendations, those of you who’ve read his work?

Okay, the first piece of text I had analyzed was a blog post. I decided to try it on some of my fiction. I chose a selection from the story “Chris Dickle” in Greenville. Here’s the result:

I write like
Stephen King

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Pulled another story from Greenville, this time “Revelation” and came up with David Foster Wallace again.

Gonna try one more time. A different short story altogether.

For my story, “A Question for the Lake,” I come up with this result:

I write like
James Joyce

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

One more, just for the heck of it. (Can’t leave well enough alone, can I?) This time for “As Above, Not So Below:”

I write like
Isaac Asimov

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

That’s it, people. Just call me a Writing Chameleon.

—–

[Addendum – July 16, 2010: I realized after writing this that I had inadvertently used the working title of one of my short stories, “A Question for the Lake,” rather than its final title, “Round & Round It Goes.” You can find that story under the Writing tab at the top of the blog.]

