Tags

, , , , ,

I downloaded a great, simple crochet pattern from Lion Brand Yarn a few weeks ago. It’s for a produce bag (a.k.a. grocery sack) and I whipped one up in some ecru (who made up that word, anyway?) Peaches & Creme cotton yarn. Yes, the pattern called for Lion Brand cotton yard, but that’s not sold in our local Wal-Mart, so I had to make do. (“Making do” is not a hardship with Peaches & Creme. I love that yarn!)

Because the balls of Lion Brand cotton are larger than the Peaches & Creme balls, I had to do a little math in order to figure out how many balls of the ecru Peaches & Creme I would need. Six. Got it. Now we’re cooking with bacon.

I bought the yarn and whipped up the bag. Voila! I even had most of a ball of ecru left over.

My ecru crocheted produce bag, modeled by my Lovin' Spouseful Erik, May 27, 2010.

My ecru crocheted produce bag, modeled by my Lovin' Spouseful Erik, May 27, 2010.

Daughter asked me to make another produce bag, this time in yarn that was more exciting in color. I chose Fiesta variegated Peaches & Creme. Can you get more exciting than Fiesta? I think not. I bought the yarn and got to work. As I neared the end, it became apparent that I was going to run out of yarn. WTF? I bought six balls of yarn, the same as for the ecru bag, yet I didn’t haven’t enough, let alone extra? How could that be? I was using the same size crochet hook and I have a fairly consistent stitch size. Puzzling.

Until I thought about the size of the ecru ball as compared to the Fiesta ball. I had a sense that the ecru was bigger. Because I still had the yarn labels left for both types of yarn, I checked them. My hunch was right. See here …

Ecru Peaches & Creme cotton yarn - 2.5 ounces

Ecru Peaches & Creme cotton yarn - 2.5 ounces

Fiesta Peaches & Creme cotton yarn - 2 ounces

Fiesta Peaches & Creme cotton yarn - 2 ounces

There’s a half-ounce difference between the two balls of yarn. That explains it.

Erik and I jumped on the motorcycle and ran to Wal-Mart to buy the extra yarn I needed to finish the bag. While there we compared the various colors of Peaches & Creme yarn. Turns out that solid-colored balls all contain 2.5 ounces and variegated balls contain 2 ounces. Let that be a lesson to me, eh? Always read the yarn labels.

Here’s how that Fiesta bag turned out …

Fiesta crocheted grocery bag, modeled once again by Erik (he's so patient!).

Fiesta crocheted grocery bag, modeled once again by Erik (he's so patient!).

