Tags

, , , , ,

I took bucket-loads of pictures while I was at Como Park Zoo & Conservatory two weeks ago. (I can hardly believe two weeks have already passed. Where does the time go?) While I have shown you a few within several blog posts and I have a number of others that might make their way here, there were some pictures I just couldn’t bring myself to take.

While strolling through the zoo on that rainy Thursday, Hubby, Young Son, Nephew and I went into the primate building. All of the primates were inside because of the weather. We saw a number of teeny monkeys scampering around one enclosure, teeny monkeys with large mustaches. They’re called Emperor Tamarin monkeys. (Just google “monkeys with mustaches.” You’ll find them within the first few links.)

Another enclosure revealed monkeys in hiding. Quite the trick trying to see monkeys in hiding, let me tell you.

Following that, we came to the orangutans. Two of them were next to the glass, one grooming the other. There was a baby orangutan swinging around, generally having the time of his/her life. The baby was cute as all get-out, even when it came up near the glass, spit on the cement and preceded to suck it back up. Yeah. Eww. The adult orangutans were turned so as not to face the glass and the visitors on the other side. I would have thought this was a random sort of arrangement, but when one of them got up to move, he made a concerted effort to keep from turning his head toward the glass, doing this kind of ducking motion in order to stay turned away. It was such an awkward motion that it could only have been deliberate. He did not look happy and I decided right then that I was not going to photograph him in his misery.

After the orangutans, we came to the silver-backed gorillas. One was sleeping face down on a lower level of the enclosure. Another was next to the glass, facing toward visitors, but looking bored and doing everything in his/her power not to make eye contact with any one of us. If I had thought the orangutans behavior was deliberate, the gorilla’s was even more so. Have you ever tried to talk to someone who won’t make eye contact because they are uncomfortable with social situations? That was this gorilla. S/he would make the briefest of eye contact with me and then quickly look away. My thought was, What are you thinking, my dear? I wish I knew and could talk with you. It was very much like peering at a human being in a cage and I soooooo wanted to see the gorilla outside in his/her natural environment. (Actually, I don’t have a desire to see a gorilla in the wild. It’s enough for me to know they are in their natural habitat.)

Once again, even though the shot would have been great from the standpoint of proximity, I could not take a picture of this glorious being while it looked so verklempt. It would be like taking a picture of a person after surgery – so invasive.

Some photos are best left untaken.

