I’ve been cleaning out e-news subscriptions that I no longer read, but keep getting and deleting in my email accounts. When I click the unsubscribe button, I typically get a “Sorry to see you go! Please tell us why …” message. I was a little surprised to see the email message I was sent after unsubscribing from the Blogcritics Newsletter. Here it is, reproduced in its entirety:
Goodbye from our Newsletter, sorry to see you go.
You have been unsubscribed from our newsletters.
This is the last email you will receive from us. We have added you to our
“blacklist”, which means that our newsletter system will refuse to send
you any other email, without manual intervention by our administrator.
If there is an error in this information, you can re-subscribe:
please go to http://blogcritics.org/lists/?p=subscribe and follow the
Really? You had to blacklist my email account merely because I no longer want your newsletter? And an administrator needs to get involved if I want to resubscribe later? Yet, immediately following this message, I’m given a resubscribe link? I’m so confused.
I’ve never seen any other email subscription service handle unsubscribing this way. A piece of advice, Blogcritics – lose the word “blacklist.” It has bad connotations. And find a system that allows people to resubscribe without getting your administrator involved. It can be done.