Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last Friday, while Hubby, Young Son, Nephew and I were in the Twin Cities metro, we visited Como Park Zoo and Conservatory, one of my most favoritististist places ever. If I lived closer, I’d hang out in the Conservatory all the time.

Of course I took pictures. Lots of pictures. I’ll split them up among several posts so as not to overload you. First, I present … the flowers. (Don’t ask me to identify them. Really.)

Como Park Conservatory, foggy-looking plant, May 7, 2010.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Look at the marvelous fog this plant is giving off! What? Oh, there's water on my lens. This, umm, flower (is it a flower?) looks more like a centipede.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010, flower.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Much better! A picture without fog. Maroonish flowers with yellowish varicose veins.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Purple & white flowers.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Purple & white crinkly flowers. Yeah. So I don't know my flowers. So sue me. (Now that I look at it all big-like, this is a blurry picture. Sheesh.)

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Yellow & maroon flowers.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Yellow & maroon flowers. (i.e. More flowers I can't identify except by color.)

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Purple flowers.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Purple flowers. Wait. Are these orchids? Could I maybe identify one freakin' flower?

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Bundle of purple flowers.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Bundle of purple flowers. Okay, so I may not know the name of the flowers, but at least I can add a descriptive shape with the color.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Flowers.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Peachy/apricoty flowers in an elongated upside-down bell shape. Hubby knows the name of these. He had me take the picture. For the life of me, I can't remember. So, along with being deficient in flower identification skills, I'm also deficient in memory. Marvelous.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Roses.

Como Park Conservatory, May 7, 2010. Aha! Here's one I can identify! It's a pale pink rose, surrounded by rose budlets. Woohoo! I'm not completely hopeless.

Maybe I ought to spend more time reading the signs next time I go.

