Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This morning I caught the tail end of VH1’s Top Twenty Video Countdown. Song #1 on today’s countdown was Lady Gaga & Beyonce’s “Telephone.” As with all of Gaga’s videos, the costuming is amazing, but the scenes flick by so fast that I want to stop the action so I can get a better look.

One of Gaga’s outfits came back to me later in the day when I was taking out the garbage. (Bear with me. That pairing of thoughts isn’t as weird as it sounds.)

Our city has a trash pick-up system that involves colored bags that have to be purchased at specific retail stores. In the package of colored bags, we get *special* twist ties. On one side, the ties are blue with white stars; on the opposite side, they have red-and-white stripes.

Twist ties - blue with white stars.

Twist ties - blue with white stars.

Twist ties - red & white stripes.

Twist ties - red & white stripes.

So you know I'm not lying ... Back & front of twist ties revealed in same pic.

So you know I'm not lying ... Back & front of twist ties revealed in same pic.

As I examined these twist ties, a thought popped into my head. I had to share it with Hubby immediately. I said to him, “Look, Honey, a Lady Gaga costume!”

I was only being a teensy bit facetious when I said it. If you’ve seen the “Telephone” video, you know what I mean. Lady Gaga transformed crime scene tape into a costume. If she can do that, she can certainly turn twist ties into a costume. (It was actually Gaga’s red, white, and blue patriot-themed costume in the video that the twist ties reminded me of.)

Twist ties for me are a symbol of all the tiny things we throw away mindlessly every day. Taken in aggregate, we’re chucking a lot of resources that could be reused or recycled. Think of what it took to pull the metals out of the ground and run them through a refinement process to create twist ties. This weighs so heavily on me that I can’t stand to toss them in the garbage. Instead, I save them in a drawer for future use, like for tying trash bags shut or bundling electrical cords.

Our collection of twist ties, waiting to be used/reused.

Our collection of twist ties, waiting to be used/reused.

Obviously, we’ve got more twist ties than we know what to do with, so I’ve come up with a challenge for Lady Gaga and her House of Gaga design team. I would like to see them design a costume out of twist ties, but not from pristine specially-purchased twist ties. I want them to recycle used twist ties sent in by fans. Knowing that fans can get over-excited about such things, Gaga would probably end up with enough twist ties to outfit an entire dance entourage, which would part of the point. How many costumes could the designers whip up using twist ties? And the message for fans and recycling centers would be: Don’t dismiss the smallest items in your recycling efforts.

