Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I picked up some yogurt the other day after visiting the doctor about my tooth extraction site. (Feeling quite a bit better, btw.) I figured yogurt would be easy to eat and nourishing for my body in general and my jaw in particular. (I’m building bone, after all.)

In perusing the yogurts, I found a new flavor to try: pomegranate and yumberry. I consider pretty much any berry – strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, blueberries – to be a Yum!-berry, so I was intrigued to discover there was a berry called yumberry.

Pomegranate and yumberry yogurt from Old Home, March 10, 2010.

Pomegranate and yumberry yogurt from Old Home, March 10, 2010.

A little internet research (maybe two minutes worth) and I’ve discovered that the yumberry is from the Myrica rubra or yangmei tree (a.k.a. Bayberry tree). Yumberry is actually a trademarked name, which was coined by Charles Stenftenagel in 2003. (He though yangmei sounded sort of like yummy.)

I won’t repeat all the other info I found; just click the links provided above if you want to know more. There’s one more link you need to see because it contains a fabulous illustration of a yumberry with a straw in it. Very striking.

And, yes, the pomegranate/yumberry yogurt was yummy.

