Tags

, , , , , ,

Now I’ve done it. Gone and broken a tooth over the weekend. It happened when I was eating a few Sweethearts. I bit down and could immediately feel that something wasn’t right. (Thanks for cheating me again, Sweethearts.)

Thing is, no piece of tooth ever broke off and I had trouble telling exactly which one was giving me trouble. Whenever I bit down, it felt as though a shard of tooth was poking me. I finally zeroed in on the tooth; it was the one that had suffered a root canal. (Suffered is perhaps too mild a word.) Now I’m trying to avoid chewing on that side of my mouth until I can get to a dentist next week. It’s strange playing keep-away from the tooth with my food. Flavors aren’t as vivid when my whole mouth isn’t involved in the chewing.

According to my sister-in-law, who has brittle teeth, root canals can cause teeth to be brittle. Did you know that? I didn’t. I certainly wasn’t informed of that when I had the root canal. Kinda makes sense, though.

The dentist may look askance at me when I mention that I broke the tooth on a Sweetheart, but given it’s a root canal tooth, even a healthy hard food, like an apple, was likely to break it. It was only a matter of time.

What is it with teeth being all up in my face lately, anyway?

