Tags

, , , ,

I had one of THOSE days at work. You know, one of those days that whips by because you are so engrossed in work that you blink an eye and an hour is gone? Yeah, one of THOSE days.

Along with several phone calls and emails to respond to, there was a researcher in and we had a family with young children visit. That kind of activity automatically makes the day go fast, but what had me really enthralled was the outline I was writing for a class I’m going to be teaching on “How to Use Twitter with a Purpose.” (That’s the title of the class, in case you hadn’t guessed and it came to me one morning after I dreamt that Twitter was passé, which would mean that I was teaching the class too late to do any good.)

I experienced such Total Focus while putting together this outline that before I knew it, it was 3:00 p.m. That late afternoon hour barely got me up for breath and about 2 minutes later (that’s what it felt like, anyway), it was 4:20 p.m.

I love that feeling of such intense concentration that time ceases to exist.

Ever have that experience? If so, what activity puts you into the space of Total Focus?

