Tags

, , , , ,

A quick blog post because the next one promises to be supremely long and I want to feel as though I’ve accomplished a little something with my blog today.

I like to think of myself as creative. In my pursuit of creativity, I’m constantly reading books, newspaper & magazine articles, blog posts, etc., etc., about creativity. I’ve read so much about creativity, in fact, that I don’t often hear any particularly new ideas regarding it.

Creativity has been done to death and I wasn’t aware of American society’s intense focus on it until I started reading Matthew B. Crawford’s book, “Shop Class As Soulcraft: An Inquiry into the Value of Work.” The following quote provided my “Aha!” moment:

“I believe the mechanical arts have a special significance for our time because they cultivate not creativity, but the less glamorous virtue of attentiveness. Things need fixing and tending no less than creating.” (pg. 82)

Shaazam! The fixing, the tending, the attentiveness – all mundane activities, all of which it’s very easy to curse when I’m itching to “Be Creative.” Why do I have to rake the lawn, fold the clothes, replace a button, clean up the cat puke, clip my nails? Yet, it’s when I’m involved in the mundane that I get out of my creative head long enough to work out the practicalities of my creative projects. Ironic, no?

 

