Tags

, ,

You’re channel-surfing. There isn’t a whole lot on television that you really want to watch, but suddenly you come across a movie that you’ve seen at least 52 billion times. Rather than turn off the TV and do something else, the nature of the movie is such that it sucks you in. Doesn’t matter where you catch the movie along its plot line, you’re hooked.

That happened to me this weekend with Adam Sandler’s “The Wedding Singer.” I can’t deny the appeal of the movie’s 1980’s theme, complete with music and clothing of the era. I was a teenager then. Daughter asked if we really dressed that way, insinuating that we were peculiar for doing so. Yes. We really dressed that way, plus we overdid it with the hairspray in order to achieve our big hair.

It’s not simply nostalgia, though, that sucks me into particular movies. I can’t always put my finger on what precisely draws me in repeatedly. Rather than try to figure it out, Hubby, Daughter and I put together a list of movies that insist we watch them over and over.

The Wedding Singer

Any of the Legally Blonde movies

Miss Congeniality

The Princess Bride

Rambo: First Blood (not so much me, but Hubby and Young Son are addicted)

Shaun of the Dead

Airplane (also not one of my favorites, but Hubby can’t resist)

Not Another Teen Movie

Pretty much any James Bond movie

Any in the Pirates of the Carribean series

Any in the Harry Potter series

The Shawshank Redemption

Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Psycho

Monty Python’s Meaning of Life & Life of Brian

Down with Love (one of my favorites, particularly for the fashion)

O Brother, Where Art Thou?

The Hudsucker Proxy

Indiana Jones movies (only the 1st and 3rd for me, don’t care for the 2nd)

National Treasure

Sister Act

Your turn. What movies suck you in over and over again? Do you know why they have this effect?

 

 

