Tags

, , , ,

I’ve posted a new sestina under my writing pages (see sidebar). This is the sestina I started last weekend and finished yesterday morning. It is called Captain Seraphina Baleen and I was attempting to achieve a sense of story with the piece.

Around about the fourth or fifth stanza, sestinas get really tricky for me, this one especially so. I could see that I needed to come up with an ending and right quick, but I didn’t know how I wanted it to end. What should happen between Captain Baleen and the mustachioed, limping kleptomaniac? It was a puzzle, which is why it took a week to finish.

Incidentally, when I set my writing goals for the year, along with getting Greenville published and my Woo Woo Teacup Publishing website up, I wanted to write three short stories. That hasn’t happened yet. Not sure that it will, either, because the end of the year is rapidly approaching. I did, however, write three sestinas this year, so I’m counting that in place of the short stories.

