I have written a number of informal book reviews on GoodReads, which I have also posted here on my blog. After watching the blog stats, I’d have to say that my book reviews are perhaps the least-read of all my blog posts. I also notice that when it comes to reading other people’s book reviews, I don’t. That’s because I don’t want to be influenced by someone’s opinion of a book before I read it. I’d like to make up my own mind, please and thank you.

Do any of you read book reviews?  Do you use them to make a decision on whether to read a particular book? Do you read them after you’ve read a book? Do they have any influence on your reading habits?

Let me know ….

As for me, I think I’m going to use the book review section on GoodReads to write sketchy thoughts about the books I read, notes to remind me of the content. I’m not going to worry about writing reviews for a potential audience, which means I’m not going to make lovely sentences or concern myself with flow. If my reviews become cryptic, well, that’s a risk I’m willing to take.

Here’s my first of the sketchy reviews:

The Passionate, Accurate Story: Making Your Heart's Truth into Literature The Passionate, Accurate Story: Making Your Heart’s Truth into Literature by Carol Bly

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Second time reading. Worth the re-read. Too complex to remember all of it. Read like a fresh book. That’s the first thing I thought; what’s the second? Include competing ethical dilemmas in fiction. Focus on short story, but applicable to longer fiction.

View all my reviews >>

