Tags

, , , , ,

Author Clare Dudman is planning a trip to China. In preparation for her trip, she is learning how to hold chopsticks, but is having a bit of difficulty in maneuvering them so that she can pick up food and not have aching fingers. It took me a considerable amount of time to find a workable technique. Young Son was a total natural at chopsticks pretty early because he was fascinated with Asian culture. He  has a beautiful chopstick collection. After watching him and getting tips from my sister-in-law, who used to live in Hawaii (chopsticks are big there), I finally got the hang of it.

I tried to explain to Clare in her comment section how I hold chopsticks, but I really wanted to show her pictures because explaining is just too hard. So, Clare, for you …

Holding chopsticks.

Holding chopsticks.

Move only the top chopstick. Keep bottom stationary.

Move only the top chopstick with the forefinger. Keep bottom one stationary. The thumb keeps everything steady.

It gets easier the more you practice, but do keep a spork handy, Clare!

If you really need it, you could get a tattoo of chopsticks handling instructions. (Thank my darling Hubby for that advice & for finding the link. 😉 )

