Tags

, , ,

I deleted a blog today. With only a smidge of trepidation.

I’ve been working on a story idea, one for which I have a fair number of notes, but not much writing. At a certain point in the creation process, I thought it would be a good idea to structure the story as a blog. I was pretty sure the story would work in first-person point-of-view and I wanted it to be informally told. I also figured that if I set up an actual blog for the story that I’d get hopping on content generation, rather than all this thinking & note-taking, because I always manage to find time to write posts for The Woo Woo Teacup Journal.

So, I set up a new blog at the end of August. And it sat. I’d open my WordPress account and see 2 Dashboards and feel guilty that I wasn’t working on the new blog, which meant that I wasn’t generating material for the story. Last Monday, I put my butt in a chair, opened a screen for a new post on the new blog, and started writing. Over 600 words later I was out of time, but the post wasn’t done. There was more to write on the first scene.

I don’t know about you, but when it comes to blog posting for me, I have to finish a post within one or two sessions (preferably one) and if I have to save it in Draft form, by golly, I plan on finishing the post the next day. It was readily apparent that this wasn’t going to happen with the new blog. I was going to end up with week-long (or more) time lags within the space of a single post. While I can deal with lags in a word processing document, I can’t abide by them in a blog.

So, I copied the text of that unfinished blog post into a Word document and said “Buh-bye” to the new blog, holding my breath for only a moment while I clicked the link in the confirmation email. I was more worried I’d lose The Woo Woo Teacup Journal by clicking the link than I was over losing the new blog.

Fiction blogging may work for some writers, but it doesn’t work for me. And I’m okay with that.

