Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We have oak trees in our yard. And when I say oak trees, I mean A LOT of oak trees. There is always something falling off of them, whether leaves or acorns, bark or limbs. (Yeah, that limb dropping thing? Not so fun when one hits the car.) Right now, as we speak (or, rather, as I write and you read, unless you’re reading this far into the future), it’s acorn dropping season. They’re clunking down on the roof of the house, the roof of the car, into the yard and onto the sidewalk.

See:

Acorns on the sidewalk

Acorns on the sidewalk

Take it from me, these babies are no fun to walk on. Every time one rolls around underfoot, I feel like I’m going to break an ankle, and that’s no lie. Yesterday, I swept the sidewalk clean of Nature’s marbles before packing the car with recyclables. They kept falling – some even fell into the trunk of the car – as I made trips back and forth to the house. It didn’t take long for them to be all over the sidewalk again.

In the afternoon, I finished mowing the lawn after Hubby did the rounds in the back yard. The lawn was lumpy with acorns and I wondered where all the squirrels were. Why weren’t they gorging themselves on the feast that was presenting itself so readily? Fuzzy little ingrates. They’ll regret not taking advantage of this bounty come wintertime.

My mom said something about the acorns falling early this year and how this will mean an early winter.  According to this discussion on New Jersey Hunter, this appears to be just the right time for acorns to be dropping.

As I was rooting around for lore on acorn-falling season, I found Interesting Facts About Oak Trees, an article that discusses the numbers of acorns oak trees produce at particular ages. Judging by the numbers of acorns in our yard this year, it must be both a good year and our trees must be in the sweet spot of acorn-producing age.

