Tags

, , , , , ,

This morning I had to do a little ironing before I got dressed for work. I’ve been putting it off, but could do so no longer. (I do like to iron, but sometimes the rest of life gets in the way.)

I took out the ironing board, plugged in the iron, and hit the on switch. It didn’t stay on. I hit it again and held it. It didn’t stay on. I tried plugging it into a different outlet, hit the on switch again. No dice. It wasn’t going to stay on. The iron, a Black & Decker Steamxpress, has an automatic switch that shuts the thing off if it’s been sitting for too long. Nice feature, until now. Apparently the switch is broken, so the iron is now unusable. Shucks. It’s not that old an iron, either.

Black & Decker Steamxpress Iron with broken switch. I love the roll-up cord feature and light weight of this iron.

Black & Decker Steamxpress Iron with broken switch. I love the roll-up cord feature and light weight of this iron.

I still needed to do my ironing, so I dug out the Old Workhorse Iron I think I found in the house when we moved in. This baby is so old, it has a cloth-covered cord. It’s a Toastmaster; it’s really heavy; and apparently nothing can kill it. Normally I use it to iron wax paper together to use for tracing patterns. Today, it was used for proper ironing and it worked splendidly, of course. The Old Workhorse Iron will probably outlast the next 4 irons I purchase.

The Old Workhorse Iron - a Toastmaster. It's so old, it doesn't even have a cutesy model name. Note the cloth-covered cord.

The Old Workhorse Iron - a Toastmaster. It's so old, it doesn't even have a cutesy model name. Note the cloth-covered cord.

