Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

This past Saturday, my good friend Jody hosted a book launch party for me in honor of my book “Greenville.” We had scads of food, good company, and Little Jack Dog for entertainment. Jody gave me a lovely introduction, describing my book as whimsical, which is exactly the same word Hubby uses when he describes my art work. After the intro, I explained the inspiration for the book and its structure (a series of linked short stories), plus why I had published three different editions. Then, I read part of the story called “Miss Fortune.” After the reading, I gave a copy of the Sharing Edition to each household worth of attendees. (Hope that makes sense.)

One of the people in attendance is from my area writers group and it turns out that he has recently self-published his own book, so we traded. His book is called “Mayhem and Mischief Most Foul” (LOVE that title!) and, like me, he did all of the writing (of course!), layout and cover design. His book is a mystery.

In talking to him about the process of self-publishing, I came to a couple of conclusions. As book publishing is transformed by the internet and more authors decide to self-publish, perhaps those of us who’ve done it could help others out with the process. We could do this through our local writers groups. The other thing we could do is help with promotion because exclusively self-promoting can come across as self-serving (which it is), but when it comes to the book-buying public, it helps to have those who are not the author recommend the author’s book.

Another thing I’ve come to realize is that there is no easy mechanism through many print-on-demand internet publishing services for offering books in independent bookstores. One issue is pricing. My cost for having one copy of “Greenville” printed is about $13.00. Cafe Press allows me to set a retail price, which is $19.95. What is needed is a price in between for bookstores, a price that allows both the author and the bookstore to make money.

Now that I’ve gotten those thoughts out of the way, I promised yesterday that I’d have pictures today, and I do.

Me, posing for a book-signing picture.

Me, posing for a book-signing picture.

The beautiful, and unexpected, bouquet Jody gave me.

The beautiful, and unexpected, bouquet Jody gave me.

The flower vase, which looks like glass, but is really more of a plastic box.

The flower vase, which looks like glass, but is really more of a plastic box.

The tomato rose Hubby made to decorate the cheese platter. Isn't it pretty?

The tomato rose Hubby made to decorate the cheese platter. Isn't it pretty?

Little Jack Dog, who wouldn't display his grovelling skills during the party, but suddenly remembered them after everyone had left.

Little Jack Dog, who wouldn't display his grovelling skills during the party, but suddenly remembered them after everyone had left.

