Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Psychological and emotional ruts are well discussed in American society thanks to day-time talk shows. The women who always date bad boys, the hoarders who can’t let go of their mountains of stuff, the drug users who use because they are avoiding emotional trauma, and on and on.

What I haven’t heard discussed is physical ruts, the habitual ways in which we use our bodies. There is a multitude of ways we could carry, move, or hold ourselves, yet we fall into patterns of use for our bodies.

Physical ruts are on my mind lately because I’ve developed a doozy of a physical rut. I spend so much time in front of the computer between work and home life that I’m getting neck and shoulder aches from holding myself in the same position for too long. I’ve also noticed that I typically sleep in the same position each night – at least, that’s the way I start out when I go to bed.

I’m trying to figure out ways to break out of my physical ruts, partially through stretching exercises, partially through staying away from the computer for longer periods of time. Moving helps. Moving in non-habitual ways helps more. I’m even forcing myself to take different positions when I sleep, in case that is exacerbating my neck and shoulder pain.

But here’s something I’d really like to know about physical ruts. Do people with Multiple Personality Disorder have the ability to change their habitual movements when they undergo a personality shift? Does one personality slump and shuffle, while another stands tall and takes long strides? Further, can those with multiple personalities also change their metabolic processes with each shift in personality? Does one personality have high blood pressure and asthma, while another has low blood pressure and psoriasis?

If this physical shifting can occur in a single person, how is it we get into the physical ruts we do?

