Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Song Is You: A Novel The Song Is You: A Novel by Arthur Phillips

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I fell in love with this book for a couple of reasons. For one, I’ve long attempted to figure out the relationship between fans and famous people, particularly singers, so the topic of the novel is close to my heart. For another, Arthur Phillips paints such psychologically complex and exacting profiles for his characters that I was literally inside their heads and recognized much of what they were feeling. While I couldn’t tell you what Julian and Cait (the main characters) looked like from a physical standpoint (other than that Cait has red hair), if I had to pick them out of a line-up based on psychological characteristics, I could do it. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a novel with this much psychological detail and Phillips does such a good job conveying his characters’ emotions that I felt delighted when they were delighted and frustrated when they were frustrated. This is a book I wish I had the skill to write and I’m pleased for the new aspiration it has given me.

View all my reviews >>

