Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sort of an odd day off. For some reason I decided that I had to thoroughly clean the car. It might just have something to do with the fact that Eldest Son and Daughter are scheduled to take their driver’s tests later this week and I want the car ship-shape (or car-shape, as the case may be) for the event.

The first thing I did was vacuum the interior. I used an industrial-sized vacuum, what is commonly referred to as a Shop-Vac, even though Shop-Vac is a registered trademark brand. Whenever I use this vacuum, I wear earplugs because it’s way too loud for my delicate ears.

As I was vacuuming the mounds of sand off the floor, working the suction end underneath the seats and into the crevices, I thought about the people who do this sort of thing for a living. They have a great job title: Detailing. Isn’t that marvelous? They are being paid to pay attention to detail, to work around the nooks and crannies and curves, of which there seem to be hundreds in a single car. Auto detailers must have special tools for getting into the really tight spaces (between the seat and center console, for one). I was hankering for a skinnier wand on the end of the vacuum hose.

While I was vacuuming, Daughter came out to see what I was up to. I put her to work on cleaning the windows. Thank heavens she pitched in, or I might have been there all day. After vacuuming, I wiped down the seats, dash, and door interiors with a damp, soapy rag. Then it was time to hose down the exterior and scrub it with Armor-All Car Wash, which works up into lovely suds with a soft brush. Another rinsing and a wipe-down with a dry cloth and the car gleamed in the sunshine.

