Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ah! Remember the good old days when memes were a blog thing? I haven’t done a blog meme in ages, yet within the past week, I’ve participated in 3 or 4 of them on Facebook.

For those of you unfamiliar with a meme, the definition according to WordNet is …

“a cultural unit (an idea or value or pattern of behavior) that is passed from one person to another by non-genetic means (as by imitation)”.

Translated to the internet, whether on blogs or Facebook, a meme is typically a series of questions designed to illicit interesting answers about your personal life. A meme is an exercise in getting to know people more deeply.

Another facet of memes, a very important facet, is tagging. Once you’ve answered a meme’s questions, you are supposed to tag other people before publishing it, basically asking them to participate. Tagging on a blog simply means listing other bloggers within the meme blog post and asking them to answer the meme on their own blog.

On Facebook, in contrast, once a person is tagged, s/he gets an email and a Facebook notification about the tag. In order to take part in the meme, you have to copy the text of the meme from whomever sent it, then open a new Note (go to Facebook applications bar at bottom of screen, click on icon that looks like notebook paper, then click on “Write a New Note” button in upper right of the screen), paste the meme into the Note, delete the answers given and fill in your own answers. Before publishing, you can tag people on your Friends list by using the tag feature to the right of the Note.

And on and on it goes.

The Facebook memes I’ve participated in this week are “State Share” (wherein I had to identify which states in the U.S.A. I’ve visited), “The 3’s of Moi” (wherein I had to give 3 answers to each question), and my favorite – “Pop Trash Movie.” I have another meme cued up, one that Hubby tagged me for, and it’s called “Taggy Question Thingy.”

As I really enjoyed “Pop Trash Movie,” allow me to explain it. It doesn’t have a true title, except the one you give it. The point of the meme is to pick one musical artist or group and answer each of the questions using song titles exclusively from that artist or group. The very last question asks what you will be calling the meme and you have to pick a title from one of your artist’s songs. The musical group I chose was Duran Duran and “Pop Trash Movie” is from their album “Pop Trash,” which I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never heard. I lost track of the group after the “Notorious” album, while they were in the middle of forming new bands and such, and I haven’t caught up with them since.

If you want to take part in this musical meme, let me know and I’ll post my answers here and tag you and we can return a meme to the blogosphere.

